The Philippines' Chemical and Pharmaceutical Industries
0. Summary — The 30-Second Version
| Issue | Status (August 2026) |
|---|---|
| Petrochemicals | JG Summit Petrochemicals (JGSOC, Batangas) shut down all facilities indefinitely between late 2024 and January 2025. It recorded a ₱114.3 billion impairment for full-year 2025. Negotiating with prospective buyers since March 2026 |
| Refining | The only refinery currently operating is Petron's Limay plant in Bataan. Shell's Tabangao refinery stopped refining in 2020 and was converted into an import terminal |
| Resins/plastics | Most polyolefins have shifted to imports. Over 60–70% of domestic demand is now met by imports (industry estimate) |
| Fertilizer | Almost entirely imported. The 2026 Middle East conflict pushed urea prices up roughly 50% in a year |
| Pharmaceuticals | The leading domestically owned manufacturer is United Laboratories (Unilab) (注 the indicator is said to be domestic sales, but Unilab is unlisted and does not disclose sales, so this has not been primary-source verified; see §6-3). Active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs) are almost entirely imported |
| Price regulation | MDRP/MRP under RA 9502 (Cheaper Medicines Act). EO 104 (2020) and EO 155 (2021) together cover 120 molecules |
| 2026 shock | The Middle East conflict that began 28 February → disruption in the Strait of Hormuz → national energy emergency declared under EO 110 on 24 March. Raw-material and transport costs hit both the chemical and pharmaceutical sectors directly |
1. Where the Industry Stands
The Philippine chemical industry has a structure, within ASEAN, that is extremely thin upstream (petrochemicals) and heavily weighted downstream (compounding, molding, consumer goods). While Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, and Vietnam all maintain naphtha crackers or large integrated petrochemical complexes, the Philippines lost its only cracker in 2025.
注 Older Japanese-language reference material still describes the Philippines as "one of ASEAN's leading chemical producers," but upstream petrochemical output has been zero since 2025, and using that description without qualification is a factual error. Since rankings ("#X in ASEAN") vary widely depending on the metric used, this article does not state a ranking and treats it as unconfirmed.
On the policy side, the Board of Investments (BOI) oversees the Chemical Industry Roadmap and the Integrated Roadmap for the Philippine Pharmaceutical Industry, and is working on revisions together with the industry association SPIK (Samahan sa Pilipinas ng mga Industriyang Kimika, the Chemical Industries Association of the Philippines) (per BOI and SPIK published materials).
2. Petrochemicals — JG Summit's Withdrawal (2025)
2-1. What Happened
| Timing | Event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Mid-December 2024 | Polypropylene (PP) plant halted. Initially described as a "temporary shutdown from mid-December 2024 to end of March 2025" | Argus Media |
| 24 January 2025 | Employees formally notified of possible layoffs | Argus Media |
| Late January 2025 | Polyethylene (PE) — 570,000 tonnes/year — halted. All petrochemical operations shut down indefinitely | Argus Media, BusinessWorld, Manila Bulletin |
| March 2025 | Restart in February or March was considered but abandoned. The PP-propylene spread was $35/tonne as of 6 March, far below the break-even point of $150/tonne | MRC/ChemWeek |
| May 2025 | Company states the shutdown will last "at least 2 years"; parent company assumes the debt, layoffs proceed | Inquirer.net, Manila Bulletin |
| November 2025 | Company plans to book a ₱114.3 billion impairment as a discontinued operation | bilyonaryo |
| 26 March 2026 | CEO Lance Gokongwei announces "discussions have begun with prospective buyers." Full-year 2025 net loss, due to the impairment, was ₱87.9 billion | OneNews.ph |
注注 (Detected in the 2026-08-25 verification pass. The 2025 profit figure on a continuing-operations basis differs between sources — both are presented here rather than deleting either)
| Source | Description | Amount | YoY change |
|---|---|---|---|
| This article (OneNews.ph, 26 March 2026) | Continuing operations' recurring net income | ₱31.9 billion | +3% |
| The "Conglomerates" article, §6-3 (Manila Bulletin, 25 March 2026) | Reported continuing-operations net income | ₱36.1 billion | −7% |
Both the amount and the direction of the year-on-year change diverge — this is not simply a rounding difference. This likely reflects either (1) a difference in metric — "recurring/core" (adjusted for one-off items) versus "reported continuing-operations net income" — or (2) a transcription discrepancy on the reporting side. This survey could not reach JG Summit's own full-year 2025 disclosure (jgsummit.com.ph's press-release page has not been updated since May 2022, and the full-year 2025 release could not be located) = unconfirmed. 注 When citing this figure, always specify whether it is "recurring/core" or "as reported." By contrast, the ₱87.9 billion full-year 2025 net loss is consistent across both sources and may be treated as a settled figure. Note also that 1H2026 core net income was ₱13 billion (−37%) (per the conglomerates article), which reflects fuel-cost pressure on Cebu Pacific (separate from petrochemicals) plus interest expense inherited from the petrochemical unit at the parent-company level. Do not mix figures across fiscal periods.
2-2. Capacity Lost (Important)
| Facility | Capacity (per year) | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Naphtha cracker (ethylene) | 480,000 tonnes | Argus Media/MRC |
| Same (propylene) | 240,000 tonnes | Same |
| Butadiene extraction | 70,000–80,000 tonnes | Same |
| HDPE | 160,000 tonnes | Argus Media |
| LLDPE | 160,000 tonnes | Same |
| New PE line (came online July–August 2024) | 250,000 tonnes | Same |
| Polypropylene | 300,000 tonnes | Same |
| Benzene | 90,000 tonnes | Same |
| Toluene | 50,000 tonnes | Same |
| Mixed xylenes | 30,000 tonnes | Same |
注 The new 250,000-tonne PE line had only just come online in July–August 2024 and was shut down less than a year later. Any 2024-era claim that "the new capacity secures the future" is now entirely out of date.
2-3. Impact on Demand
According to Argus Media, 2024 domestic consumption in the Philippines was approximately 170,000 tonnes of LLDPE, 240,000 tonnes of HDPE, and 440,000 tonnes of PP. With JGSOC shut down, these volumes have in principle switched entirely to imports.
An industry survey (Kantor Materials, 13 April 2026) estimates the Philippines' resin-processing volume at 1.2–1.5 million tonnes/year, with an import share of 80–90% for polyolefins (PE/PP) and 60–75% across resins overall. It puts the remaining domestic producers — NPC Alliance, Petron, Philippine Resins Industries (PRII), and others — at a combined ~575,000 tonnes/year. This is an industry estimate, not an official government statistic.
The same report cites three reasons for 2026's import share being heavily skewed toward China: (1) ACFTA's zero tariff, (2) the September 2025 lapse of the HDPE safeguard tariff, and (3) an $80–150/tonne raw-material cost advantage over Korean suppliers (all industry-side claims that this survey could not independently verify against primary sources).
3. Refining — A "Single-Plant" Structure
3-1. Shell Tabangao's Conversion to an Import Terminal
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Facility | Tabangao Refinery (Batangas), capacity 110,000 barrels/day |
| Crude processing halted | 24 May 2020 (initially framed as a temporary halt to conserve cash) |
| Permanent closure announced | 14 August 2020 |
| Reason | Weak regional refining margins, demand collapse from COVID-19. "It is no longer economically viable to keep refining." |
| Aftermath | Converted into an import terminal (Pilipinas Shell/Shell Pilipinas Corporation) |
(Source: Oil & Gas Journal, 2020)
3-2. Petron's Bataan Refinery
- The only refinery currently operating in the Philippines is Petron's Limay plant in Bataan, said to supply roughly a third of national fuel demand (source replaced 2026-08-27: the earlier draft cited the English-language Wikipedia article "Bataan Refinery" among other sources. Its stated capacity of roughly 180,000 barrels/day has not been confirmed against Petron's own primary sources = unconfirmed).
- It was temporarily idled from December 2020 into 2021 (Oil & Gas Journal), illustrating the structural weakness of the Philippines' fuel and petrochemical-feedstock supply: "there is only one refinery, and even that one can go idle."
- In June 2026, in response to shrinking jet-fuel buffers, the company applied to expand storage capacity at the Bataan terminal (Philstar, Manila Times, BusinessWorld, 10–11 June 2026).
3-3. Petron's Performance (Hit Directly by the 2026 Middle East Conflict)
| Period | Net income | Notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Full-year 2024 | ₱8.5 billion | — | Petron |
| Full-year 2025 | ₱15.6 billion (record high, +84%) | Higher sales volume, improved refinery utilization in the Philippines and Malaysia | Petron press release (3 March 2026) |
| Q1 2026 | ₱1.8 billion (−56%) | Turnaround maintenance, supply disruption, crude spike | Daily Tribune/Power Philippines (May 2026) |
| H1 2026 | ₱3.8 billion (−27%) | Revenue up 57% to ₱605.9 billion; operating income ₱12.6 billion (−17%) | Petron press release (4 August 2026) |
Petron itself cites "Middle East geopolitical instability pushing up crude prices, import premiums, and shipping costs" as the cause. Dubai crude peaked at $129/barrel in March 2026, fell to $79 by June, averaged $86 in Q1 and $96 in Q2, for an H1 average of $91 (+27% year-on-year) (Petron press release).
注 The key point is that revenue rose 57% while profit fell. Because the Philippine oil and chemical sector swings on "price pass-through lag" and "inventory valuation," looking at revenue alone gives a misleading picture.
3-4. The 2026 Upheaval in Crude Sourcing
- In March 2026, the Philippines imported Russian crude for the first time in five years (about 2.48 million barrels). Petron locked in the purchase amid the Middle East conflict (Philstar, Manila Bulletin, Borneo Post, GMA, March 2026).
- 注 Initial reports in May said the crude was Iranian; this was later corrected to Russian (Baird Maritime, 9 June 2026). Reporting on 2026 crude sourcing has been inconsistent, and primary-source verification is needed.
- In late March 2026, Ramon Ang (RSA) renewed his proposal to sell Petron to the government (InsiderPH, Inquirer.net, Philstar), directly tied to the broader national fuel-security debate.
4. Fertilizer — Import Dependence and the 2026 Price Spike
4-1. Supply Structure
Per the Department of Agriculture (DA, da.gov.ph, 2026):
| Item | Figure/Detail |
|---|---|
| 2025 urea-based fertilizer imports | 713,000 tonnes |
| Of which, direct imports from Qatar/Saudi Arabia | ~20% |
| Main suppliers | Indonesia, Brunei, Malaysia, China, Vietnam |
| Ammonium sulfate | Sourced entirely from China and Japan |
Agriculture Secretary Francisco Tiu Laurel Jr. said, "Supply is not the problem — price is," pointing to logistics costs and market uncertainty as the real issues.
4-2. Prices (Old vs. New, Side by Side)
Fertilizer and Pesticide Authority (FPA) weekly prices, WK32 (3–7 August 2026), national weighted average retail price per 50kg sack
| Grade | ₱/sack |
|---|---|
| Urea (prilled) 46-0-0 | 2,444.68 |
| Urea (granular) 46-0-0 | 2,448.12 |
| Ammonium sulfate 21-0-0 | 1,215.14 |
| Complete fertilizer 14-14-14 | 1,908.79 |
| Ammophos 16-20-0 | 1,743.50 |
| Muriate of potash 0-0-60 | 1,656.18 |
| DAP 18-46-0 | 3,079.73 |
As of April 2026 (DA data, BusinessMirror, 13 April 2026)
| Grade | Price | Increase |
|---|---|---|
| Urea (prilled) | ₱2,600/sack (up from ₱1,720.74) | +51.1% |
| Urea (granular) | ₱2,500/sack | +49.23% |
| Ammonium sulfate | — | +17.52% |
| Ammophos | — | +9.65% |
注 Prices have eased somewhat from April's peak (₱2,600) to August's ₱2,444, but remain well above the pre-conflict level of around ₱1,720. The "₱1,500–1,800/sack" figure commonly cited in Japanese-language material is from 2025 or earlier and no longer applies in 2026.
The DA has warned that under a worst-case scenario in which urea reaches ₱3,000/sack, palay (unmilled rice) production could fall from a projected 19.87 million tonnes to 17.63 million tonnes — a 10-year low (BusinessMirror, 13 April 2026). It also noted that diesel reaching ₱160/liter is undermining the economics of mechanized farming.
4-3. Moves Toward Domestic Production
- In March 2026, the Philippines held additional fertilizer-procurement talks with China (BusinessWorld, 17 March 2026).
- In April 2026, the DA was considering a ~$1 million feasibility study for a coal-based urea plant on Semirara Island (Daily Tribune, 21 April 2026). This remains at the conceptual stage; nothing has been decided.
- The House Committee on Policy and Budget Research Department (CPBRD) published discussion paper DP2026-17, "Seeds of a Food Crisis: Fertilizer Supply Disruptions in the Philippines Amidst the US-Iran Conflict" (May 2026). The full PDF could not be retrieved due to bot protection; its contents remain unconfirmed.
5. Other Chemicals — Oleochemicals as an "Exceptional Strength"
While upstream petrochemicals have disappeared, coconut-derived oleochemicals remain one of the few chemical segments where the Philippines has a raw-material advantage.
- D&L Industries (including Chemrez): 1H2025 net income of ₱1.4 billion (+6%), export sales of ₱7.4 billion (+18%, 38% of gross profit), with profit at the new Batangas plant tripling year-on-year to ₱597 million. CEO Alvin Lao noted that "coconut oil prices hit record highs, making Q2 tough" (D&L Industries press release, August 2025).
- 注 Oleochemicals face headwinds when coconut oil prices rise. Do not oversimplify the claim that "it's strong because the raw material is domestic."
Other downstream segments include chlor-alkali (Mabuhay Vinyl), PVC (Philippine Resins Industries), industrial gases, and compounding industries such as paints, adhesives, and detergents. This survey could not obtain the latest confirmed production volumes and market sizes for these from the PSA's (Philippine Statistics Authority) annual establishment survey (ASPBI); treated as unconfirmed.
6. The Pharmaceutical Market — Figures That Swing More Than Threefold Depending on Definition
6-1. 注注 Market-Size Figures Must Always Come With Their Definition
| Source | Year | Figure | What It Measures |
|---|---|---|---|
| BMI (via BusinessMirror, 12 March 2026) | 2025 | ₱525 billion ($9.1 billion) | Total pharmaceutical market. Projected to reach ₱759 billion ($12.1 billion) by 2030, CAGR 7.6% (peso terms) |
| USAID PQM+/BOI (via Daily Guardian) | 2023 | ₱118.8 billion ($2.1 billion) | The "Philippine pharmaceutical market." Projected to reach ₱131.7 billion ($2.33 billion) by 2029, CAGR 2.4% |
| BOI target (Tribune, 22 September 2025; Inquirer) | 2025 | $2 billion | Pharmaceutical "sector revenue" target |
| Ken Research (industry survey) | 2025 | $6.2 billion | Drugstore retail market |
The same term, "the Philippine pharmaceutical market," varies more than fourfold — from $2.1 billion to $9.1 billion. The gap comes down to whether it is measured at wholesale or retail, prescription-only or including OTC/supplements, and domestic manufacturing only or including imports. Whenever you cite one, name the source, the year, and the definition. This survey could not determine which is "correct" — treated as unconfirmed.
6-2. Trade Balance and Import Dependence
| Indicator | Figure | Year | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pharmaceutical trade deficit | $2.3 billion | 2025 | BusinessWorld (6 April 2026), BMI |
| Pharmaceutical import value | ₱133 billion ($2.35 billion) | 2023 | USAID PQM+/BOI |
| Main import sources | US, India, China, Germany | 2023 | Same |
| Import share of manufacturing raw materials (APIs, etc.) | ~95% | 2026 | PPMA estimate (BusinessWorld, 6 April 2026) |
| Import share of packaging materials | ~50% | 2026 | Same |
BMI summarizes that the Philippines "depends almost entirely on imports for APIs, mostly from China and India," while "advanced biologics and specialty drugs are imported from the US and Europe, with domestic manufacturers concentrated on generics" (via BusinessMirror, 12 March 2026).
6-3. The Players
| Category | Main players |
|---|---|
| Largest domestic player | United Laboratories, Inc. (Unilab) (注 Noted in the 2026-08-25 verification: the metric behind "largest" is said to be domestic pharmaceutical sales, but since Unilab is unlisted and does not disclose sales, no primary source could confirm this ranking in this review either = unconfirmed. It is also unclear from the sources whether this ranking includes multinationals or is limited to domestic-capital manufacturers). Founded in 1945, it marked its 80th anniversary in 2025. There are plans to develop its Laguna campus into a pharmaceutical ecozone (Inquirer.net, 10 May 2025). In June 2026, senior House leaders toured the Laguna plant (BusinessWorld) |
| Domestic manufacturers' association | PCPI (Philippine Chamber of Pharmaceutical Industry): about 90 Filipino-capital member companies, including Unilab. Chairman is Dr. Lloyd Balajadia (BusinessWorld, 26 January 2026) / PPMA (Philippine Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association): chaired by Higinio P. Porte, Jr. |
| Multinationals' association | PHAP (Pharmaceutical and Healthcare Association of the Philippines): chaired by Diana M. Edralin (general manager, Roche Philippines, as of 2026) |
| Public procurement | PPPI (Philippine Pharma Procurement, Inc.): President and CEO is Maria Blanca Kim Bernardo-Lokin |
| Retail | Mercury Drug, The Generics Pharmacy (TGP), Watsons, Southstar Drug, Rose Pharmacy, Generika |
注 On retail market share, industry sources claiming "TGP is largest, with Mercury Drug second, and the two together holding over 60%" conflict with the more common understanding that "Mercury Drug is the largest." The share figures themselves could not be verified in this survey — unconfirmed. Unilab's "roughly $2 billion" in sales, likewise, comes from a corporate database rather than a primary source, since Unilab is unlisted — primary source unconfirmed.
(Added in the 2026-08-25 verification: the discrepancy is likely a difference in metric) - Both the "Conglomerates" article (§5) and the "Notable People — Economy and Culture" article (§2-8) describe Mercury Drug as "the largest domestic drugstore chain." Founded by Mariano Que in 1945; roughly 1,200 stores and over 15,000 employees. The owning Que Azcona family ranked 8th on Forbes Philippines' 2026 rich list, at $2.5 billion (source: Forbes profile "Vivian Que Azcona," source of wealth listed as drugstores; Vivian Que Azcona, the majority shareholder and president, died in April 2025 at age 69). - "TGP is largest" typically refers to store count (it leads through an aggressive franchise model), while "Mercury Drug is largest" typically refers to revenue. 注 Stating "the largest" without specifying the metric makes the two claims look contradictory when they may in fact be describing different rankings. - 注 That said, the underlying claims themselves — "TGP has the most stores" and "the two together hold over 60%" — could not be traced to a primary source in this review either = unconfirmed. Neither claim is discarded; whenever you state a ranking, specify whether it is store-count-based or revenue-based, and for what year. - 注 The claim "the Que Azcona family = Monde Nissin" is incorrect (Monde Nissin belongs to the Quifanes/Dalmono family). This mix-up has already been detected and corrected once within this document set ("Conglomerates," cross-check record #1).
7. Pharmaceutical Regulation — Three Pillars You Must Get Right
7-1. The Generics Act (RA 6675, Generics Act of 1988)
| Item | Detail (per the text on lawphil.net) |
|---|---|
| Enacted | 13 September 1988 |
| Section 6(b) | Healthcare providers must write prescriptions using the generic name; brand names may be added if desired |
| Section 6(c) | Manufacturers must prominently display the generic name on labels and promotional materials |
| Section 6(d) | Pharmacies must inform buyers of other products with the same generic name and their prices |
| Section 12(A) | Individual violators: first offense — reprimand; 2nd — ₱2,000–5,000; 3rd — ₱5,000–10,000 + 30-day license suspension; 4th and beyond — ₱10,000+ + 1-year+ suspension |
| Section 12(B) | Corporations: ₱5,000–10,000 fine, license suspension/revocation; responsible officer faces 6 months to 1 year imprisonment |
注 "A brand-name-only prescription is illegal" is often the first thing that trips up Japanese medical institutions and pharmaceutical firms operating in the Philippines.
7-2. The Cheaper Medicines Act (RA 9502, Universally Accessible Cheaper and Quality Medicines Act of 2008)
| Item | Detail (per the text on lawphil.net; re-verified against the original text in the 2026-08-25 check to confirm section numbers) |
|---|---|
| Enacted | 6 June 2008 (✅ primary-source confirmed) |
| RA 9502, Section 17 | Grants the President the power, on the Secretary of Health's recommendation, to impose maximum retail prices on medicines. It explicitly states that "no court, except the Supreme Court of the Philippines, shall issue any restraining order or preliminary injunction" against the exercise of this power (✅ primary-source confirmed; added in the 2026-08-25 check) |
| RA 9502, Section 19(A) | The Secretary of Health recommends prices, taking into account international prices, market supply, manufacturing cost, etc. |
| RA 9502, Section 18 | The Secretary of Health is to establish a price-monitoring system |
| RA 9502, Section 7 → amends Section 72.1 of the Intellectual Property Code (RA 8293) | Allows parallel importation — once a product has been placed on any market worldwide, both government agencies and private third parties gain the right to import it |
| RA 9502, Section 10 → amends Section 93 of RA 8293 | Adds "insufficient supply of a patented medicine to meet demand" as a ground for compulsory licensing (93.6) |
| RA 9502, Section 11 → creates Section 93-A of RA 8293 | Establishes the TRIPS-based special compulsory licensing procedure for importing patented medicines for domestic consumption, with "adequate remuneration" to the patent holder |
注注 (Corrected in the 2026-08-25 check. Source: RA 9502 text obtained directly from lawphil.net) The initial draft had listed "Section 93" and "Section 93-A" alongside Sections 17, 18, and 19 as if they were RA 9502's own section numbers — this was an error. Sections 93 and 93-A are in fact section numbers of the Intellectual Property Code (RA 8293); within RA 9502, it is Section 10 that amends Section 93, and Section 11 that creates Section 93-A. Citing the basis for compulsory licensing as "RA 9502, Section 93" would name a section that does not exist. The correct citation is "RA 8293, Section 93 (as amended by RA 9502, Section 10)." Section 7 alone was correctly noted in the original draft as amending Section 72.1 of the IP Code.
7-3. Maximum Drug Retail Price (MDRP/MRP)
| Executive Order | Date | Coverage | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| EO 821 | 2009 | Early-stage MDRP | (secondary source; text unconfirmed) |
| EO 104 | 17 February 2020 ✅ | 86 molecules/133 formulations ✅. An additional 36 molecules/72 formulations were to be reviewed by a Technical Working Group within 30 days (i.e., EO 104 itself frames a scope of "122 molecules/205 formulations" in total) | lawphil.net re-verified against original text in the 2026-08-25 check |
| EO 155 | 7 December 2021 ✅ | 34 molecules/71 formulations (Annex A) ✅ | lawphil.net re-verified against original text in the 2026-08-25 check |
(2026-08-25 verification) All items regarding the signing dates and molecule/formulation counts for EO 104 and EO 155 were re-checked in full against the original text on lawphil.net and matched the original draft exactly. No errors found. 注 However, the "120 molecules under EO 104 and EO 155 combined" figure in the summary (§0) refers to 86 + 34 = 120 (the molecules actually placed under price caps). The "122 molecules" mentioned in the body of EO 104 refers to the scope including the 36 additional molecules under review, not the number already regulated. 120 and 122 are distinct figures — do not conflate them.
- MRP (Maximum Retail Price): applies to all public and private retailers, including drugstores, hospitals/hospital pharmacies, HMOs, convenience stores, and supermarkets (EO 104).
- MWP (Maximum Wholesale Price): applies to manufacturers, wholesalers, traders, and distributors (EO 104).
- Labels must carry the red-band notice "RETAIL PRICE NOT TO EXCEED" and "UNDER DRUG PRICE REGULATION" (EO 155).
- A 90-day non-extendible grace period allows existing stock to be sold at prior prices upon implementation (EO 104, EO 155).
- Coverage and prices are to be reviewed 6 months after implementation and every 6 months thereafter (EO 104, EO 155).
- Violations are handled under RA 9502 and related laws; the Secretary of Health investigates and imposes administrative penalties (EO 155).
7-4. Price Freezes (RA 7581, Price Act)
Separate from the MDRP framework, a state-of-calamity declaration automatically triggers a price freeze in the affected area.
- July 2025: Following Typhoon Emong and tropical depressions Dante and Crising, a 60-day price freeze on 148 essential medicines was imposed in affected areas (DOH, OneNews.ph, 25 July 2025), covering anesthetics, analgesics, anti-asthmatics, anticoagulants, diabetes medicines, antidiarrheals, antidotes, antiemetics, antihistamines, antihypertensives, antibiotics, antipsychotics, disinfectants, cardiotonics, corticosteroids, diuretics, insulin, antifungals, vitamins/minerals, and more.
- Penalties for violations: 1–10 years imprisonment and a fine of ₱5,000–₱1 million (DTI).
- Under the 2026 national energy emergency, an automatic price freeze applies to medicines listed on the Philippine National Drug Formulary (PNDF), per DOH explanation (SunStar, 26 March 2026).
8. FDA Philippines and the Approval System
- The regulator is the Food and Drug Administration (FDA Philippines), under the Department of Health (DOH). Marketing a medicine requires an LTO (License to Operate) and a CPR (Certificate of Product Registration).
- AO 2024-0013 (effective 2025) comprehensively revised registration rules for human medicines and APIs, requiring submissions in ASEAN Common Technical Dossier (ACTD)/CTD format (per industry commentary; the FDA's own original text could not be retrieved, as fda.gov.ph returns an access refusal — unconfirmed).
- Review pathways are being organized into full/abridged/verification/reliance (deference to other regulatory authorities) tracks.
- GMP: domestic companies need domestic certification; importers need SRA (Stringent Regulatory Authority)/GMP certification.
- An e-CPR (electronic CPR) pilot is underway.
- PAC (Post-Approval Change) rules were finalized in October 2025.
- In January 2026, the FDA introduced a "Green Lane" program, which the PCPI has voiced support for. It offers eligible domestic manufacturers of essential medicines faster review timelines, clearer documentation requirements, and closer coordination with the regulator. PCPI Chairman Balajadia said the initiative "draws on proven models from Singapore, India, and China" (BusinessWorld, 26 January 2026).
注 The reality of review timelines: BMI notes that "the target is 254 days, but in practice it can take 2 to 4 years" (via BusinessMirror, 12 March 2026). Do not take the 254-day figure at face value.
9. Import Dependence and Localization Policy
- The BOI's Integrated Roadmap for the Philippine Pharmaceutical Industry sets a goal of manufacturing 60% of registered medicines domestically (per USAID PQM+-related reporting).
- Tuberculosis (TB) and HIV medicines are named as priority areas, given large demand, limited domestic manufacturing capacity, and high global-supply-chain vulnerability (same source).
- PQM+ (Promoting the Quality of Medicines Plus) is a USAID-supported program launched in 2019. This survey could not confirm the effect, if any, of post-2025 changes in US foreign-aid policy on this program.
- Key figures: BOI Executive Director Ma. Corazon Halili-Dichosa; FDA's Engr. Maria Cecilia Matienzo; PPMA Chairman Engr. Higinio Porte Jr.; USAID's Dr. Yolanda Oliveros.
10. Vaccines — The Push for Domestic Production (As of 2026)
10-1. RA 12290 (Virology and Vaccine Institute of the Philippines Act)
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Law | Republic Act No. 12290 (full title: An Act Establishing a Collaborative and Complementary Research and Development System on Virology and Vaccine, Creating for the Purpose the Virology and Vaccine Institute of the Philippines, and Appropriating Funds Therefor) |
| Signed | 12 September 2025 (most press reports cite 19 September) |
| Oversight | Section 5: an attached agency of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) |
| Policy | Section 2: adopts a One Health approach (linking human, animal, plant, and environmental health) |
| Function | Section 6: to serve as the lead convener for virology research — R&D on diagnostics, treatments, and vaccines, research ethics and biosafety standards, and international cooperation |
| Funding | Sections 22–23 and 26: a Virology Research Fund (accepts donations and grants; donors receive tax exemption). Funded from DOST's current-year budget in the first year, then via the annual General Appropriations Act (GAA) thereafter |
| 注 Budget amount | The law itself sets no fixed appropriation. Funding depends on annual budget negotiations |
(Source: RA 12290 text on lawphil.net)
10-2. Progress
| Timing | Detail | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 13 November 2025 | IRR public hearing for the Luzon area | BusinessMirror (1 February 2026) |
| 12/20/27 January 2026 | IRR public hearings for Visayas, Mindanao, and Parañaque | Same, Daily Tribune, GMA |
| Construction site | New Clark City, Capas, Tarlac, on 5 hectares | BusinessMirror |
| Planned facilities | BSL-3/BSL-4 laboratories, GMP facilities, virology labs for human, animal, and plant pathogens | Same |
| 31 July 2026 | Health Secretary Jose Pujalte Jr. states the goal is "vaccine development matched to diseases prevalent domestically" and "reducing dependence on overseas assistance and supply delays" | GMA Network |
注注 There is currently no fact of "the Philippines producing vaccines domestically." RA 12290 is a legal framework for R&D infrastructure; the facility is still under construction, and the IRR only entered the drafting stage in 2026. Any claim of "Philippine-made vaccines starting in 2026" is incorrect.
注 Change of Health Secretary: Teodoro ("Ted") Herbosa resigned on 13 July 2026, and Dr. Jose Brittanio "Brix" Pujalte Jr., former head of the Philippine Orthopedic Center, was appointed and sworn in on 15 July (Rappler, Manila Bulletin, Philstar). DOH statements before April 2026 are Herbosa's; those from July onward are Pujalte's — take care when citing which.
11. Impact of the 2026 Middle East Conflict (From 28 February)
11-1. The Macro Timeline
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 28 February 2026 | Airstrikes begin; Iran restricts passage through the Strait of Hormuz, affecting about a fifth of global oil supply |
| 20 March 2026 | Philippine oil reserves average 45 days' worth (down from 55–57 days at the start of the conflict) |
| 23 March 2026 | The President orders the formation of a crisis-response committee |
| 24 March 2026 | President Marcos declares a national energy emergency under EO 110; diesel exceeds ₱130/L, gasoline exceeds ₱100/L |
| 25 March 2026 | RA 12316 signed, allowing suspension of the fuel excise tax through 31 December 2028; ₱20 billion disbursed from the Malampaya Fund |
| Late March 2026 | Diesel exceeds ₱140/L; LNG prices triple, coal prices +30%. By 27 March, 425 of the nation's 14,485 gas stations were closed |
| End of March 2026 | Russian crude (about 2.48 million barrels) arrives for the first time in 5 years |
| 13 April 2026 | Excise tax removed on LPG and kerosene (effective price cuts of about ₱3.36/L and ₱5.6/L, respectively) |
| 13–15 May 2026 | Rotating blackouts in Luzon and the Visayas affecting about 2 million people |
(Source replaced 2026-08-27: the earlier draft had aggregated various reports via the English-language Wikipedia article. Replacement with individual primary reporting was not completed in this session = requires re-verification. Only some items have been confirmed against primary sources)
注 The figure "the Philippines imports 98% of its oil from the Middle East" has circulated in connection with March 2026 government announcements, but the original PCO statement could not be retrieved even in this verification pass, so the single figure of 98% is unconfirmed. (Added in the 2026-08-25 check) However, within this document set, the "Oil, Natural Gas, and Undersea Resources" article, §14, states Middle East dependence for oil as a range of "95–98%." Citing a range of "95–98%" rather than a single figure is the most defensible position this document set currently supports.
11-2. Impact on the Chemical Industry
- Petrochemicals: Since JGSOC was already shut down, there was no direct impact on operations. However, since the industry had just switched to full import reliance on resins right before freight rates spiked, processors' procurement costs deteriorated on two fronts at once.
- Fertilizer: As noted above, urea prices are up roughly 50%. The DA, while framing it as "a price problem, not a supply problem," projects upward pressure on food prices of ₱2–5 per kilogram, and is promoting substitution with bio-fertilizer (priced at ₱750/kg, described as equivalent to two 50kg sacks of urea).
- Fuel costs: Diesel at around ₱160/L (April 2026) hit chemical plants' logistics and utility costs directly.
- 注注 (Time-stamped in the 2026-08-25 check. This was "the peak level in April," not the current value) Per the confirmed series in the "Electricity and Power Rates" article, §4, Metro Manila diesel went from about ₱55/L just before the war began (late February 2026) → ₱130–140/L in March (Philstar reported a peak of ₱170/L) → ₱85.50/L as of 17 August 2026 (GlobalPetrolPrices; ₱53.10/L a year earlier = +61%). The correct figure for August 2026 is that diesel remains elevated in the ₱85–90/L range. Using "₱160" as the assumption for late-2026 costs would overstate them. That said, Energy Secretary Garin has stated plainly that "even after the conflict ends, prices will not return to the pre-war ₱50–60/L level," so assuming a return to pre-war levels is also mistaken.
11-3. Impact on the Pharmaceutical Industry (This Is the Core Topic Here)
| Issue | Detail | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-increase outlook | Expected cost increase of 5–15% within two months | PPMA/PPPI (BusinessWorld, 6 April 2026) |
| Inventory buffer | Some manufacturers hold 6–12 months' worth. DOH says "the industry holds about 3 months' worth" | Same/ABS-CBN (10 April 2026) |
| Exchange rate | The peso broke past ₱60 to the dollar, further raising imported raw-material costs | BusinessWorld (6 April 2026) |
| Raw materials | "Most, if not all, of the raw materials used in drug manufacturing are imported" (PPPI President Lokin) | Same |
| DOH response | No medicine price increases through June; drugmakers voluntarily absorbing costs. DOH monitors 10 key products (antihypertensives, diabetes medicines, etc.) weekly, and publishes a quarterly medicine price index on e-Gov | ABS-CBN (10 April 2026) |
| Room for price caps | Then-Secretary Herbosa said, "It is possible to recommend a price cap to the President. We haven't done so yet because prices haven't risen [enough]." | Same |
| Automatic price freeze | Under the national energy emergency, PNDF-listed medicines are automatically subject to a price freeze | SunStar (26 March 2026) |
| WHO's view | "Medicine prices will gradually rise to a certain point. Preparation is needed" (as relayed by DOH spokesperson Albert Domingo, citing the WHO view) | Same |
PHAP's 10-point proposal (10 April 2026, context.ph)
Citing a 12–24 month production lead time for medicines — meaning "today's supply disruption becomes tomorrow's shortage months later" — PHAP called on the government to:
- Secure a 6-month national inventory buffer
- Establish joint public-private demand forecasting
- Create a National Medicines Logistics Command Center (real-time monitoring)
- Establish green lanes at ports (priority customs clearance for pharmaceutical cargo)
- Expand cold-chain storage capacity
- Grant priority fuel allocation for medicine distribution
- Pursue cross-sector pooled procurement
- Apply flexible regulation and time-limited tax incentives
- Exempt medicines from VAT to offset logistics costs
- Strengthen public-private cooperation under the UHC Law framework
12. Key Points for Japanese Companies and Practitioners
| # | Point |
|---|---|
| 1 | Upstream petrochemicals no longer exist. Sourcing resins or chemical intermediates in the Philippines must now assume imports. Any plan built on completing raw-material procurement entirely within the Philippines is no longer viable |
| 2 | With only one operating refinery, fuel and naphtha-based feedstock supply carries structural risk. External shocks like 2026's immediately spill over into price and supply |
| 3 | Understand pharmaceuticals through four layers: RA 6675 (mandatory generic prescribing) → RA 9502 (price-regulation authority) → EO 104/155 (MDRP implementation) → RA 7581 (automatic price freeze during disasters). Looking at any one in isolation will lead you astray |
| 4 | FDA approval has been organized around ACTD/CTD standards under AO 2024-0013, but actual processing times can diverge sharply from the stated targets |
| 5 | 2026 is the year two localization-support initiatives — the FDA's Green Lane and the VIP (RA 12290) — both got underway. The window for entry and partnerships is open, but both remain works in progress institutionally |
| 6 | 注 Market-size figures can differ by up to fourfold depending on definition. When using them internally, always attach the source, year, and definition |
| 7 | 注 2026 statistics and reporting contain anomalies driven by the Middle East conflict. Present pre-conflict (through 2025) and post-conflict (2026) figures separately |
13. Main Sources (Primary Materials and Originals)
- Statutory text on lawphil.net: RA 6675 (13 September 1988), RA 9502 (6 June 2008), RA 12290 (12 September 2025), EO 104 (17 February 2020), EO 155 (7 December 2021)
- Fertilizer and Pesticide Authority (FPA), Weekly Fertilizer Prices WK32-2026 (3–7 August 2026): https://fpa.da.gov.ph/weekly-prices/
- Department of Agriculture (DA): https://www.da.gov.ph/da-assures-fertilizer-supply-eyes-alternatives-amid-tensions/
- Petron Corporation press releases (4 August 2026 H1 results, 3 March 2026 full-year 2025 results): https://www.petron.com/news/
- Oil & Gas Journal (Shell Tabangao closure, 2020): https://www.ogj.com/
- Argus Media (JG Summit petrochemical shutdown, January 2025)/MRC, Chemical Week (March 2025)
- OneNews.ph (JG Summit sale talks, 26 March 2026)
- BusinessWorld (26 January 2026 FDA Green Lane; 6 April 2026 pharmaceutical cost/supply issues)
- BusinessMirror (12 March 2026 BMI forecast; 13 April 2026 urea prices; 1 February 2026 VIP)
- ABS-CBN (10 April 2026 DOH medicine prices)/SunStar (26 March 2026 DOH/WHO)/OneNews.ph (25 July 2025 148-item price freeze)
- context.ph (10 April 2026 PHAP 10-point proposal)/GMA Network (31 July 2026 VIP and self-reliance)
- Congressional Policy and Budget Research Department (CPBRD) DP2026-17 (May 2026, full text not obtained)
日本語の詳細版: 分野「経済・産業・ビジネス」「化学・医薬品産業」(本サイト日本語版)。